Charles Schroeder

Principal Investigator

Charles M. Schroeder 

James Economy Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Email: cms <at>
Phone: (217) 333-3906


Brief scientific biography:

Charles Schroeder is the James Economy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is Co-Chair of the Molecular Science and Engineering Theme and Leader of the AI for Materials (AIM) Group in the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. Professor Schroeder is a faculty member in the Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology and holds affiliate status in the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Bioengineering, the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology, and the Materials Research Lab (MRL). He previously served as Associate Head in the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at Illinois.

Professor Schroeder received his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in 1999, followed by an M.S. in 2001 and Ph.D. in 2005 in Chemical Engineering from Stanford University under the supervision of Professors Eric Shaqfeh and Steve Chu. Before joining the University of Illinois in 2008, he was a Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow and a K99/R00 NIH postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University (2004-2007).

He is the recipient of several awards, including a Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering, a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, an NSF CAREER Award, the Arthur B. Metzner Award from the Society of Rheology, an NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00), the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research at Illinois, and the Vision and Spirit Award from the Beckman Institute. Professor Schroeder is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS, 2022), The Society of Rheology (2023), and the American Physical Society (2023).